Celebrating the Melbourne Cup | Memorable Kiwi wins

Since its inception, many New Zealand bred horses have championed the Melbourne Cup.

It all began when Martini Henry won the race in 1883, with other greats such as Carbine taking it out in 1890, Phar Lap in 1930, and Rising Fast in 1954 (who remains the only horse to have won the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup in the same year).

What it's all about - the 2021 Melbourne Cup

Today we've recapped some other Kiwi 'greats' that have taken out the 'race that stops a nation'.



Kiwi won both the Wellington Cup in New Zealand and the Melbourne Cup in Australia in 1983.

Kiwi is especially renowned for his last-to-first victory in the Melbourne Cup, and remains the only horse in history to have won both of these cups.

Below is Kiwi's outstanding Melbourne Cup win where he won by "a length and a quarter".


Prince of Penzance

Prince of Penzance won the Melbourne Cup in 2015. He was a New Zealand-bred and sold thoroughbred, harking from Rich Hill Stud in Matamata.

Jockey, Michelle Payne, also has some kiwi influence - learn more here.

Skip to the 3 minute mark to see the race heat up - with the winning moment happening at about 3.30.



Not only did the 1978 Melbourne Cup winner, Arwon, have a New Zealand origin, but both placing horses, Dandaleith and Karu, did too.



Only 11 horses have won both the Caulfield and Melbourne Cups in the same year.

Eight of these have been Kiwi-bred, with the most recent being Ethereal in 2001.

Ethereal’s victory gave New Zealander Sheila Laxon the distinction of being the first woman to officially train a Melbourne Cup winner.


While we're no longer racing on 2 November here at Ellerslie, we've still got a lot of great Melbourne Cup content to come as Australasia leads up to the "great race".